i guess he liked it…

…cause he finally put a ring on it!  {excuse the lame beyonce reference but, i love that song!}

I’M ENGAGED!!!!!!!!!
we got engaged 8 minutes before the new year. =)  nothing fancy, just the two of us, and ollie on the couch. (more like, me in some hideous pajamas eating peppermint oreos, ollie passed out from tranquilizers, just watching movies)  the ring is more than i could ever have imagined. so perfect. i’m honestly a very lucky girl.


happy new year!

….ok, now back to regularly scheduled blogging.  HAPPY NEW YEAR!!!!

so as you can see, we didn’t have a crazy night out in the crowds…we stayed home since it was ollie’s first new years and he was terrified of the bomb-like fireworks the people were setting off in nolan’s parents neighborhood (hence the tranquilizers and thundershirt.)

curled up & drugged up

waking up to a brand new year is exciting…so many things to be thankful and excited about.  first up…let’s get to business with this bike riding!

safety first

we were out there for about 2 hours, and i’m sad to say that i still can’t ride a bike.  nolan was trying so hard to be patient but i could tell he was getting frustrated. i had a few mini breakthroughs, only to have many setbacks.  this is why you learn these things as a kid. no fear. i gotta tell you, maybe it’s fear, maybe it’s vanity…probably a little of both, but i’d be lying if thoughts like “i can’t break my arm i’m getting married this year!”  or “i can’t scrape up my arm!” hahaha. my other problem? i apparently lean from side to side.  the whole time i’m thinking it’s the bike and nolan said it’s me. grrrrr. any tips? advice?

After bike riding pushing, we went to get me some new running shoes! what a difference! i now have great arch support AND i found out i’ve been wearing my shoes 1/2 a size too small! then we also stopped by the mall to get an acai bowl and popped into williams sonoma to see if there was any famous peppermint hot chocolate still available. ONE LEFT.  the sales associate said it was a return and i should snatch it up quick.  i did. i will try it soon and let you know what i think.

then it was off to New Years dinner with my family at Maguro-Ya.

my sister & grandma

dad & bro-in-law

just a fun, random fact:  i will now have 2 brother in law’s named ryan!

chasey roo w/his mom & grandma

chase & mom

best picture of the night!

i know you’re supposed to tell kids not to play with their food, but…..that’s technically not food. hahaha.

and now i’m off to bed…ollie is at nolan’s parent’s house tonight, so i can sleep in my own bed and not on the couch with him (bad habit, i know…but the incessant barking at 3am is getting old real quick)…so good night blog land!!!!

Hope you’re having a faaaabulous new year!


  1. CONGRATS! I’m so happy for you .. maybe you remember me from the post during summer (gal from Germany, who was writing her thesis)! I aced my dissertation and found a job, which I will be starting in 2 weeks – maybe I should start a blog as well! :) Anyway, all the best and I’m dying to read about your wedding planning!
    x Melissa

  2. Congrats, congrats, congrats Erica!!! Your ring is so pretty and sparkly. What a wonderful way to start off the new year! :D

    Yeah, learning how to ride a bike definitely isn’t easy. You guys are probably already doing this but make sure you’re near GRASS so if you happen to fall it’s not so bad. Good luck and have fun!

  3. Congrats on the both of you guys’ engagement! What an exciting way to start off the New Year! With the one you love of course!~ =]

  4. I’ll congratulate you again! Congrats Erica!!! Are you going to start a 3rd (or is it 4th) blog for the wedding planning?! :)

  5. oh my gosh brooke, yes eri should totally start a wedding blog!

    congratulations for the i don’t know how many timeth! i’m sooooo happy for you and can’t wait til the wedding!!

    oh and i’m so proud of you for trying to learn how to ride a bike.

  6. some sort of amnesia says:

    yayyyyyy! CONGRATS to you, nolan, and ollie! i’m happy for you…it’s going to be a great year!

  7. Your about the 5th blogger that got engaged over the New Years – contrats!

  8. OH my gosh he finally did it!! So happy for the both of you! So exciting. Here is a list of some of the best wedding blogs.


    and ofcourse if you need a photographer you let me know. :)

  9. Oh my goodness, eri!!! Congratulations! How exciting! I’m so excited for you!!!! Now to the fun part – planning!!

  10. omg, congrats girl!!!

    ps. check my blog, you’re the winner of my progresso soup giveaway. email me your address and phone # when you get a chance.

    congrats again!

  11. Hi, Erica! I just found your blog through Jessica’s giveaway.

    Congratulations on the engagement! That’s quite a way to ring in the New Year!

  12. Congrats!!! That’s so exciting! And now you will always remember NYE with a special memory.

Leave a Reply

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

